Ask the Expert Webinars


If you are not a SMANA member and would like to attend a webinar you can make a smaller donation here to attend.


Date: Wednesday, May 29, 2019

Time: 10am PST/11am MST/12pm CST/1pm EST

Register here: https://bit.ly/2XbezCV

When Social Marketing Doesn’t Look Like Social Marketing

Many social marketing initiatives are launched as promotional campaigns with a prominent advertising or branding component. But what does it look like when social marketing leads to behavior change with no advertising and no “campaign” at all? Kitsap County, in Washington State, applied a social marketing approach to a process improvement question: How can we make building permit applications easier for applicants, while improving the quality of project information received from them? For an agency that reviews thousands of applications each year, at great cost to applicants and the public, this is a profound question. It led to an exploration of permit data, human behavior, decision science, and bureaucracy’s quintessential icon: the form. The result changed behavior, reduced private and public cost, reduced permit review time, reduced frustration, and improved public good will toward the County. No advertising, no campaigns, just social marketing. From the County’s perspective, however, it was “process improvement”.

About Dave Ward

Dave Ward manages long-range planning and environmental programs for Kitsap County, Washington. Before that, he directed social strategies for the Puget Sound Partnership, a National Estuary Program focused on restoration of the Puget Sound ecosystem. He is a founding board member of the Pacific Northwest and North American Social Marketing Associations and serves on the editorial board of the Social Marketing Quarterly.


Members can view prior webinars by logging into the Members Only Resources section.


In 2018, SMANA collaborated with the Partnership for Food Safety Education on a series of webinars about various social and behavior change disciplines – social marketing, behavioral economics, and design thinking. Recordings of the webinars are available at http://www.fightbac.org/events.


The International Social Marketing Association (iSMA) webinar series provides timely, widely relevant and ‘newsworthy’ information on evidence-based social marketing advances and resources worldwide. Learn more here.


Sponsor an event: We would love to share the stage with you at any of the above events. Details on sponsorship levels and benefits can be found here. Reach out to discuss today!